I’ve watched a friend get abused on Twitter recently and it inspired this post.
She gets bullied/abused for rooting for teams other than her primary team, which is The Red Wings.
I try to stay out of Twitter drama that doesn’t concern me, but tonight it touched a nerve and I finally gave her what I’m sure was advice she didn’t want or need.
But I did it anyway and here it is:
I’ll give you the only advice I have: it’s only a game. I know to us fans it can feel like so much more, but in the end it’s still only a game. We, as fans, have nothing to do with the actual outcome. Losses hurt, but friendship is so much more important to me. I’m friends with fans of all teams. I turn a blind eye to a lot of smack talk.
Those were my tweets to her, but here is what I didn’t say because it would take too many tweets:
I will never condone calling a female hockey fan a puck slut, puck bunny, or any other derogatory term unless I actually see that person in the act of being one and then I’ll still probably not say shit. You are a very knowledgeable hockey fan and I like that we get along regardless of the fact that the Wings and Jackets are supposed to be rivals. I like that you seem like the type that would explain a rule/penalty/call to someone without being a jerk. Yeah, sometimes there’s a bit of drama on your timeline that gets on my nerves, but when I see random people attacking over nothing, it pisses me off. I grew up without the internet and if you bullied someone you had to do it to their face and better damn well be prepared to back your shit talking up.
So, there you have it. I will never condone Twitter bullies.
Especially if they’re little jerks that would never have the balls to say shit to anyone’s face.
I don’t have a lot of friends in my town, but I have met some wonderful people via Twitter/Facebook.
I am a good friend.
I will drive to visit my friends from Twitter.
I have on occasion lent/given them money if they needed it.
I’ve bought my friends wonderful gifts for their birthdays/Christmas.
I mail out holiday cards to my Twitter friends. (I didn’t last year because of personal problems)
I am a very loyal and protective friend.
Besides, who died and made you fan police, random Twitter troll?
Anyway.
TL;DR
It’s just a game. Don’t ruin a friendship over a game.
Here look at my cat:

image

And can’t we all just get along?

image

Chibi Rj Umberger drawn by my friend, Brett.

