Tags

, , ,

image

This group of young guys with a few seasoned veterans mixed in have made me so, very happy.
All things in my life right considered.
ICYMI: I essentially got dumped by my gf of 4 years, via email, like 10 days ago.
I wanted to crawl in to a dark place inside my head and stay there.
Of course, I have a few wonderful friends that kept ahold of me, refusing to let me hide away in my own sadness.
But,
There was hockey, namely The Columbus Blue Jackets.
See, before the split I snagged a great deal on lower bowl tickets and my co-worker/friend, Amy had agreed to go with me. She had never been to an NHL game before and I wasn’t going to flake on her.
We went, the picture above is from the end of said game.
At that game it clicked for me, these guys might actually pull off a playoff spot this year.
Fast-forward to April 9th and after much bouncing and nail-biting the Jackets clinched a wildcard playoff spot.
Then after finally drifting off to sleep, I woke up a few hours later groggy and still tired as Hell. I decided to scroll through Twitter on my phone for a couple minutes, smiling as I looked back on the amount of pure joy on my timeline from the night before.
Saw someone tweet at the Blue Jackets about where was their flag bearer code email. I had no clue what this was and dismissed it, deciding to go back to sleep.
As l was getting comfortable again, I heard my email alert and picked up my phone to look at my email.
Holy shit, I got a playoff ticket pre-sale flag bearer code.
I literally jumped up and set up my laptop to investigate tickets.
TL;DR
I scored a ticket to game 3 at Nationwide Area.
And this, my friends, is the story of how hockey made me happy.
Go Columbus Blue Jackets!
Beat The Pens!
Battle On!

image

