image

My therapy session last night really opened up my eyes.
She asked me to describe myself to her as if I was meeting myself for the first time. So I did. I said fun, silly, geeky, sarcastic, sports nut.
Then she gave me her first impression of me:
Defensive
Angry
Sarcastic
Irritable
Judgmental
confrontational
Unwilling to accept blame.
I literally couldn’t speak for a couple minutes. Am I really like that to the people around me?
And then I get to work and hear the same things. A customer complained that I was bullying the PIC. Are you kidding me?
I’m not sure I’m buying that one. How does one bully their boss and not get fired?
Anyway, back to the point of this post. There’s a point? I never knew I came off that way to others and gods, I feel like an ass if I’ve treated anyone like this.
So, here’s to trying to be fun, silly, geeky, reasonably sarcastic, geeky, and a sports nut.
Cheers!

